Museum Open Thurs-Mon
(215) 925-2800
Search Site
Jump to the top of the page

Teacher as Hero Awards

NJM Insurance Group sponsored

Teacher as Hero

This yearly recognition program, sponsored by NJM Insurance Group, honors outstanding educators in the Philadelphia area & beyond.
Nominations have been closed.

The two categories in which teachers are honored:
Category #1:
Exceptional Teacher Award
  • Six awards will be given. Three in NJ, Three in PA
    • This award will be presented to exceptional educators who put students’ needs first. These educators consistently go above and beyond to support students by taking as much time as necessary to teach complex lessons, build trusting relationships with them, and facilitate a customized and high-quality learning experience. Winners will be selected based on their achievements in all or most of the following areas.
      • Fosters an appreciation for diversity in the classroom;
      • Teaches students how to resolve conflicts respectfully;
      • Gives students a deeper understanding of the relationship between rights and responsibilities;
      • Has taken a risk to remove an obstacle to a student’s liberty; or
      • Incorporates the above concepts in their relationships with colleagues and community members.
Category #2:
Teen Driver Safety Educator Award 

Two awards will be given. One in NJ, one in PA.

    • This award will be presented to teachers who are committed to helping teen drivers to understand that driving is a responsibility as well as a privilege by running after-school programs or taking extra time to provide support to teen drivers.
      • This honoree will use a collaborative approach to administer and support evidence-based programming that empowers students, parents, and teachers with the resources they need to be safe behind the wheel.
      • They will increase awareness about teen driver’s safety programs and encourage community involvement.

View the stories of the 2024 winners below.

The National Liberty Museum celebrated its 17th annual Teacher as Hero Award sponsored by NJM Insurance with an award ceremony on Saturday, April 6. The ceremony honored 9 inspiring teachers who make a difference in the lives of their students in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. To mark the occasion, NJM Representatives, National Liberty Museum leadership, friends and family gathered at the Museum to celebrate the accomplishments of these exceptional educators.

Congratulations to the 2024 honorees! Click on their videos to learn their stories.

Sarah Rodolico

Burlington City High School

Burlington, NJ

Peter Capone

Nottingham High School

Hamilton Township, NJ

Robert Williams

Jules E. Mastbaum High School

Philadelphia, PA

Todd Corabi

The Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush

Philadelphia, PA

Jill Fackelman

Indian Hills High School

Oakland, NJ

David Payne

Haddonfield Memorial High School

Haddonfield, NJ

Megan Boyle

Smedley Elementary School

Philadelphia, PA

Sarah Damato

Springfield High School

Springfield, PA

Kristen DeGregorio

Neil A. Armstrong Middle School

Bristol Township, PA


Thu ‒ Mon: 10am ‒ 05pm

Adults: $12 Seniors (65+): $10 Students (with valid ID): $8 Youth (ages 6–17): $6 Children (under 5): No Charge Museum Members: Free

321 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia PA 19106 (215) 925-2800